top of page
Search

HighlightHER: Brandi Frye


This week's HighlightHER Q&A segment feature is the amazingly talented Brandi Frye-Odom!


Please be sure to follow Brandi on the following social media sites: Facebook: Brandi Frye, Instagram: @bflyyexperience.


Let's jump right in!


Q: Who is Brandi?

A: I am a 32 year old celebrity hair stylist and serial entrepreneur who was born and raised in Atmore, Alabama. I am the wife of Jaron Odom❤️. As well as being a master cosmetologist, I also have a bachelors degree in marketing from the University of Alabama and multiple business endeavors.. Additionally, I own “The Bflyy Experience” salon located in Tuscaloosa, Alabama.


Q: From small town to big city! What has been your biggest challenge thus far and how did you overcome it?

A: Yeah, Atmore is definitely a VERY small town. Growing up, there I always knew that there was more for me to do. My mother had me later in life, so there were lessons about life I began to learn at a early age! She was very adamant about me leaving Atmore so she prepared me to go out into the world and experience different things. She groomed me so that no matter the situation I would be able to adapt. I would say the hardest challenge I have had to overcome is the opinions and pressures of people. People will knowingly, and unknowingly, push you to do things that they feel are best for you but may not be apart of your destiny. Sometimes, you have to follow what your heart says and trust it no matter how crazy it may seem to others. I'm not saying that you shouldn’t seek advice or wise counsel but you have to learn the difference between advice and control. Also, discern who to allow to advise you! Everyone isn't fit to! Some people will advise you from their own fear rather than expertise.


Q: Did you ever think hair would take you this far?

A: I honestly never knew that hair would take me this far. Growing up, I never saw hair as a “actual” career. I always thought hair was just something fun to do on the side. It wasn’t until my senior year in college that I realized hair was my true passion. Once I came to terms with the fact that corporate America was not for me, I began to seek God on my next steps and what I needed to do in order to do hair full time! I can remember writing in a notebook 10 or 11 years ago that if God would give make a way I would do hair every day all day and he saw fit to create a Avenue for me to be able to follow my dreams and my passion. Little did I know that he would take me all the way to Atlanta, Georgia. Let alone to have me on TV, movie, and in the homes of your favorite celebrities. This is beyond my wildest dreams.


Q: What makes you a warrior?

A: What makes me a warrior is the fact that I am brave and courageous.  Being courageous doesn’t mean you’re not afraid to do something but it means that you’re willing to do it afraid. There are many things that I have done and even accomplished in life that I was totally afraid to do. I didn’t know how it was going to turn out, how it was going to work out, or how God was going to make it happen, but I was willing to go ahead and jump out there anyway. Have I made mistakes? Yes. Have things not turned out the way I planned? Yes. However, that doesn’t stop me from continuing to dream, to innovate, and most of all to trust that God created me to be a resilient visionary.


Q: What inspires you to create?

A: Sometimes I’m unsure of what exactly inspires me. It's not one particular thing. Sometimes it’s actually visions and dreams or I’m just sitting around and something inside triggers me to solve a problem. How can I create a look that will be effortless and memorable for my client.  How can I make something extravagant. How can I make a statement and leave my mark! Being timeless and remembered inspires me.


Q: What's next for the "Bflyy Experience"?

A: Honestly, there’s a lot in store for the "Bflyyexperience", you have to stay tuned in. I have a lot of vision I am casting & writing down, a lot of plans for myself and the Bflyy brand. I looking to start a mentoring program for stylist. I want to build a team of well trained stylist that will go out and leave a positive mark on the beauty industry. I also want to continue to help other women follow their dreams and build a legacy for their families.


This concludes the interview! I pray you all are encouraged to follow your dreams even if it doesn't make sense to others, help build others in your community, and never allow where you come from to limit your vision! There's no limit or dream that God won't exceed. Please show some love and support. Until next week! Again, Brandi's social media handles are as follows: Facebook: Brandi Frye ; Instagram: @bflyyexperience.


48 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page